top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Hagen

FAITH IN A FOREIGN LAND

I had no idea what was waiting for me when I stepped off of that last plane.

I was met with the uncertainty of what to do, where to go, and how to act. I became the minority and suddenly everyone around me was speaking a different language, watching every move I made, and questioning why I was there.


I made it through customs, walked outside, and realized my day had become my night. Summer turned into winter. What use to be cornfields and small towns was now a city in desperate need of structure and love. I saw gates, and guards, and walls everywhere. People walking, running, selling, begging. Traffic up and down the streets. I saw poverty and privilege amongst each other.


And I felt anxious.


I wanted to turn around and get back on that plane and the next and the next, until I was home safe and sound.


But that was the fear talking.


See, the enemy attacks when we’re at our weakest. When we are vulnerable, far from home and faced with uncertainty. Afraid of the unknown.


BUT GOD

God uses these moments to bring you closer to Him. He sees you running and He opens His arms wide. He embraces you in the unknown and promises that His plans are always good.


So trust Him.


Trust him with all of your fears, troubles, anxiety, and doubt.


Trust Him and keep going!! Have faith in the God that has brought you this far, the God that has never failed you, the God that loves you more than you can even imagine.


Have faith in God because His plans for you are always good.


Your fear might not look the same as mine, but in the midst of it, I hope you find rest in His outstretched arms.


I hope you choose faith over fear in every foreign land.


Deuteronomy 31:8

"The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Romans 8:28

"And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose."

1 John 4:18

"...But perfect love drives out fear."



105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page